A cast for justice.

Recently I listened to a well-known podcast called Serial by Sarah Koenig. Serial is about a man named Adnan and whether or not he committed a murder in 1999. As I  plan to become a part of the legal justice system I found this podcast very interesting and would suggest it to anyone who has an interest in mysteries. Essentially the podcast Serial is Sarah announcing to the public what she discovers from Hae Min Lee murder that proves Adnan’s innocence. Personally after hearing that Adnan has been given a second trial I believe this form of investigative journalism can be very helpful when proving one’s innocence. One thing I wondered is how the family would have felt when this podcast first started to when it ended.

Something I assume, is when Sarah Koenig first started the podcast she would have had to contact Adnan’s family for permission to publicize the trial and to gather more information. There is a lot of mention about how Adnan wasn’t living the strict muslim lifestyle his parents assumed he was. I believe when Adnan’s parents found this out they would have felt mortified by the other muslim families in their community and angry at their son’s behaviour. Though a lot of this they found out during the trial process. However now that Adnan has been given a second trial

I believe  that his parents are very happy about the podcast as it might prove that their son  was innocent. And what once was life in prison is now life with his family.

I have very mixed feelings about podcasts, I have to be interested in what I’m listening to in order to pay attention. When reading it is easy to get lost in the words, but when you’re listening to a podcast you have to be interested in order to catch every detail. Personally I am not the type of person who can sit for hours on end, I have to get up and move around which makes reading easier for me then podcast. But when the book I’m reading is not my fancy I prefer listening to someone else read.  Does anyone else have a similar problem?

A major issue for people today is the inability to remember important details. This idea is portrayed in Serial. How is someone suppose to remember what they were doing at a specific time six weeks ago? I can’t even remember what I had for breakfast.  This podcast solely relies on the memory of others about what happened in 1999. It is because of this that I believe the podcast will be missing lots of information, making some of the story untrue.

Leave a comment